Nevada Business License
 

Every corporation or limited liability company is required to purchase a State Business License, even if it does not intend to sell its products or services in Nevada.

The Nevada State Business License is applied for with the Initial List (see Initial List), if it is a brand new entity, or with the Annual List, due on the last day of the anniversary month of the entity’s filing date.

The fee for the State Business License is $200 for all limited liability companies and $500 for corporations. The Initial or Annual List is an additional $150. Note: $100 penalty ($75 for Initial/ Annual List) if filed late.

(06/15) Business License fee increase

As of 7/1/15 all corporations business license fees will increase to $500 from $200.

 

(03/12) Home-Based Exemption
- Ruled No Longer Available!

Corporations and LLCs are now ineligible for the State Business License home-base business exemption. Under Regulation R080-11, home-based business exemption applies only to natural persons (i.e. Sole proprietors or general partnerships who meet the exemption requirements).
 

Initial or annual lists claiming a home-base business exemption submitted after March 8, 2012 will be returned for correction. These filings must be returned by their original due date to avoid late penalties.

For more exemption options, see below (updated 5/20/13)


All fees with List are payable to the Secretary of State of Nevada. When the fees have been paid and the List form filed, the NV Secretary of State will send a receipt, completed list copy, and business license.
 

License Exemptions

Nevada INCs and LLCs can apply for an exemption from annual license fees for one of the following reasons:

Ø Home-Based Exemption (Code #003) - Again, not available to entities (i.e. INC & LLC).  The state's site states this exemption is available to "A “person who operates a business from his or her home” is a natural person who individually operates or a married couple who jointly operate a business from their personal residence, when their personal residence is in Nevada, and whose net earnings from the business claiming the exemption were less than $17,599 (66 2/3 percent of the average Nevada annual wage for the most recent calendar year ending before the date on which the fee would otherwise become due. For 2012, 66 2/3 of the applicable Nevada Average Annual Wage is $26,400)."
 

Ø Non-Profit Exemption (Code #002) - Nevada nonprofit entities formed pursuant to NRS Chapter 82 and corporations sole formed pursuant to NRS Chapter 84 are specifically exempted from the requirements of the State Business License and are not required to maintain a state business license nor are they required to claim an exemption.

Nonprofit entities formed pursuant to NRS Chapter 81 and unincorporated nonprofit associations that have qualified and currently maintain Internal Revenue Code 501(c) status may claim the 002 – 501(c) Nonprofit Entity exemption by including with its annual list the signed and notarized Declaration of Eligibility for State Business License Exemption declaring under penalty of perjury that they are eligible for the exemption.
 

Ø Governmental Entity (Code #001) - A “governmental entity” is an incorporated or unincorporated agency or instrumentality of the United States government or any state government; a corporation wholly owned by the United States government; or county, city, district, or other political subdivision of a state. Only entities that fall under this definition may claim the 001 exemption.

This does not include contractors that are associated with a governmental entity due to the fact that they have contracted with a federal, state, local governmental agency.

An entity claiming this exemption must include with its annual list the signed and notarized Declaration of Eligibility for State Business License Exemption declaring under penalty of perjury that it is eligible for the exemption.
 

Ø Insurance Company (Code #006) – A company that provides insurance services only (i.e. no other services, but those licensed by the insurance board).
 

Ø Motion Picture Company Exemption (Code #005) - If the primary purpose of your entity is to create or produce “motion pictures” in Nevada, you are entitled to the exemption. “Motion pictures” includes feature films, movies made for broadcast on television and programs made for broadcast on television in episodes. Your business must also have registered with the Nevada Division of Motion Pictures.
 

For more information, see State’s FAQ’s on this subject here:
 

How to file

Initial and annual lists can be filed by paper or online. Below are links to all of the forms:


Corporations

· PDF Fillable form: Initial List of Officers and Directors (Profit)

· PDF Fillable form: Initial List of Officers and Directors (Non-Profit)

· Online Filing: Initial List of Officers and Directors

· PDF Fillable form: Annual List of Officers and Directors (Profit)

· PDF Fillable form: Annual List of Officers and Directors (Non-Profit)

· Online Filing: Annual List of Officers and Directors


Limited Liability Companies

· PDF Fillable form: Initial List of Managers or Managing Members

· Online Filing: Initial List of Managers or Managing Members

· PDF Fillable form: Annual List of Managers or Managing Members

· Online Filing: Annual List of Managers or Managing Members

Many customers found these pages helpful

· Form a Corporation or LLC in Nevada – Find out how to form your next INC or LLC in the state of Nevada for only $25 plus state fees

· Nevada Research – Conduct a name search, read more about annual filing requirements, and much more.

· Consider Wyoming – With lower fees, less requirements, and more anonymity, find out why so many are considering Wyoming their new corporate home.