South Carolina Corporation & LLC Filing Requirements

Disclaimer

SmallBiZ.com is not associated in any way, either directly or indirectly with any local, state, or federal governmental agency. Below is the state governmental agency info which handles corporation filings. You can download any of the state's filing forms for free directly from the state's website and do not have to use SmallBiZ.com to file them with the state. For more information, see the SmallBiZ Filing Service.

We are providing the following for informational purposes only, which should not be a replacement for the advice of those licensed to give tax and legal advice. Further, although we make every effort to keep the information up-to-date, we make no guarantees as to the accuracy of the information presented in this current revision. Please report any problems you encounter to us by CLICKING HERE (please include state and defective link in your report).

 

General Info

Agencies

If you have further questions regarding business filings or fees, need additional filing forms, or want to contact your state's business division, here is the agency's contact information.

 

Secretary of State
Edgar Brown Building
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 525
Columbia, SC  29201

(803) 734-2158

FAX: (803) 734-1614

http://www.scsos.com/Home

 

If you have further questions regarding business taxes, need additional tax forms, or want to communicate with your state's tax division, here is the agency's contact information.

 

Department of Revenue

301 Gervais Street

P.O. Box 125

Columbia, SC  29214

(803) 898-5000

FAX: (803) 898-5822

http://www.sctax.org/default.htm

South Carolina State Statutes

To research the State Statutes for South Carolina Corporations, click here.
To research the State Statutes for South Carolina Nonprofit Corporations, click here.

To research the State Statutes for South Carolina LLCs, click here.

To research the State Statutes for South Carolina Partnerships, click here.

 

Licensing

 

Business Licenses

Contact your state or local agencies regarding licensing issues.

 

Corporations 

 

Annual Filing Requirements

 

Initial Annual Report (Not Annual)

Fee:

The fee for filing the initial annual report is $25.  Initial Annual Report (CL-1) is usually filed with articles of incorporation.

The annual license fee is $15 plus $1 for each $1,000 (or fraction thereof) of capital stock and paid-in surplus, as shown by corporate records on the first day of the income year next preceding the date of filing the report. The license fee is included on the income tax return filed by each corporation. The minimum fee is $25.

 

Forms:

CL-1 Form - Initial Annual Report

 

Due Date:

 

Initial Annual Report CL-1 must be filed within 60 days after commencing business. Late filing of this report will incur a delinquent penalty of 5% per month not to exceed 25%.

 

Corporation Tax Returns

Tax:

The income tax rate is 5% of South Carolina net income.

 

Forms:

Form SC1120 - 2010 C Corporation Income Tax Return (instructions)
Form SC1120S - 2010 S Corporation Income Tax Return (instructions)

Forms List - 2010 Corporate Tax Forms

 

Due Date:

 

Tax Return is due on or before the 15th day of the third month following the close of the taxable year, or March 15th for calendar year filing.

 

Limited Liability Company

 

Annual Filing Requirements

  

Annual Report

The South Carolina General Assembly passed H4650 which repeals the statutes requiring LLC annual reports in South Carolina.

 

LLC Tax Returns

Tax:

The income tax rate is 5% of South Carolina net income. Single member limited liability companies which are not taxed for South Carolina income tax purposes as a corporation will be ignored for all South Carolina tax purposes. An LLC would file the same type return with South Carolina as they are required to file with the Internal Revenue Service.

 

Forms:

Form SC1065 - 2010 Partnership Return with Instructions (if LLC files federal tax as a partnership)

Forms List - 2010 Partnership Tax Forms

 

Due Date:

Tax Return is due on or before the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable year, or April 15th for calendar year filing.